Skip to content

Bipasha United

July 20, 2007

It’s hard to escape Bollywood if you are in Dhaka. And I am also a tad tired of my Atkins Diet of history and politics. Now for some fat; some fluff.

The story making the rounds these days is of Bipasha Basu (“Bips”) and Ronaldo.

 So Bips met Cristiano of Man United fame in a recent “Seven New Wonders of the World” event in the Portuguese capital last week. Bips was a hostess. Cristiano, quite a few years younger than Bips, had to make a pass at her.

Cristiano told her how big a fan of Bollywood he is (I want to ask him if he is also a fan of Govinda, my hero).

Bips told him something along the lines of, “You don’t have to pretend to like Bollywood to impress me.”

What does the guy do? He pulls out his cell phone and plays her a song from Masoom. “Now do you believe me, Bips?”

And the rest was easy. She summed up the night out with him:

I felt like a princess. He gave me so many compliments. He danced with me throughout the night. There were 50, 000 jealous women staring at us. I must’ve gotten so much Portuguese bad-dua that night. The local girls wanted to murder me.

The night capped off with the duo caught in moments of intimacy captured in someone’s cell phone.

Aw. Sweet, innit?

Not so much for one John Abraham, heart-broken boyfriend of Bipasha Basu. John was apparently inconsolable. And sadly, he is said to have found out about all this from Google. com.

Maybe, he googles her every now and then for new rumors about her. Now wouldn’t it be a fine study to find out how often people google their loved ones, and even themselves. Admit it. You know people who do it.

I hear Cristiano likes Bong diets in addition to Bollywood and Bips. Methinks John needs more fish in his diet.

Or any other kind of brain food.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2007 12:42 pm

    Sajid, stop googling yourself.

  2. Maheen permalink
    July 20, 2007 2:06 pm

    Is he really that narcissistic Saif?

  3. July 20, 2007 2:21 pm

    “Now wouldn’t it be a fine study to find out how often people google their loved ones, and even themselves. Admit it. You know people who do it.”

    The casual “even themselves” is thorough proof of it, Maheen.

  4. July 20, 2007 5:53 pm

    Great. Now, lets try to keep this thread going for 40 comments.

  5. July 20, 2007 5:53 pm

    I’m just pleased I’ve never been a Bollywood fan and yes I was able to escape pretty well… So I just learned very recently that this Abraham guy is on some Lux ads and he doesnt shave… 🙂

  6. July 20, 2007 6:01 pm

    Perpetual five o’ clock. Might be artificial.

  7. July 20, 2007 6:17 pm

    Btw, you are supposed to back me up against Maheen, Saif Iqbal Shah Mohammad, co-blogger and partner-in-crime.

  8. July 20, 2007 6:33 pm

    I stand for truth and justice. Truth and justice.

  9. July 20, 2007 6:42 pm

    Truth instead of profit?

    How unlawerly.

    L-a-a-y-a-r, as a Desi Auntie I know likes to say it. 🙂

  10. July 20, 2007 7:09 pm

    Profit, truth. Highly correlated.

  11. July 20, 2007 7:18 pm

    Govinda, btw, is my hero too. I do a mean Govinda impression.

  12. July 20, 2007 7:55 pm

    Really? I hope it’s not his pelvic thrust.

    I liked him in the movie with 6 couples where he played the cabbie trying to romance an American tourist (Salaam e Ishq).

    Is it me, or is there a recent trend in Bollywood of having white female leads?

  13. Hussain permalink
    July 20, 2007 9:31 pm

    As Sajid and I were deconstructing Ronaldo’s game earlier (btw, Ronaldo: If you’re reading, BIG FAN!!!), and thought our readers might appreciate some preliminary analysis.

    We can now safely say that Ronaldo was scoping out the guest list, and only downloaded that bollywood tune for a quaint ice-breaker “Aww cute innit?” (Sajid, what the?) moment. We believe that this premeditated efforts was skillfully crafted, simple yet elegant.

    I tell you… some guys just have it all…

  14. July 21, 2007 7:36 am

    July 20th, 2007 at 6:01 pm Sajid says: “Perpetual five o’ clock. Might be artificial.”

    It’s artificial for sure. Some guys just trim beards because they think a clean shave may give them a female-ish look.

    And C Ronaldo… hmm who doesnt like him? I hear he’s number one in popular rating among gays as well. [no offense intended]. Though I find him strange that he likes Bips… I mean I’m not a fan of footie (I lurve Ice Hockey though can’t see it on TV here in Desh), so wouldnt die to see C Ronaldo or Man U… but few times I saw him playing, he seems quite a skillful player… I guess footballers sharpness are only stuck with their footies, they usually cant use their brain when they select their women. I mean look! Beckam is stuck with Posh! That’s just plain weird! God forbid, my little cousin’s going through training with Tottenham Hotspurs coach and if he ends up being a footballer, we will need to wash his brain.

  15. Ripa permalink
    July 22, 2007 3:24 pm

    Don’t feel too sorry for John Abraham. There are hundreds of Bipashas waiting to pounce on him any minute…

  16. Anonymous permalink
    July 23, 2007 4:27 am

    But there’s only ONE bips.

    Besides, if there were many, what if they all do the same to him

  17. July 23, 2007 10:03 am

    I wonder if she introduced him to bidi.

  18. Anonymous permalink
    July 23, 2007 3:39 pm

    Nazzina, are you fan of David Beckham?

  19. July 24, 2007 6:47 pm

    “Nazzina, are you fan of David Beckham?”

    OMG! No! And I thank God 🙂

    I’m a fan of Ottawa Senators 😀

  20. Sajid permalink
    July 24, 2007 7:14 pm

    BIDI, man. You get them in Jackson Heights I am told. Saif, do you know about this?

  21. July 24, 2007 7:26 pm

    The bidi in Jackson Heights comes free with the paan and jorda if you know the right people, Sajid.

    You can also find it on the same rack as tooth powder. My favorite ad from Dhaka from last year is the tooth powder ad involving Mofiz. “Amar naam Mofiz! Bhara hoise tirish!”

    Almost as good as the Pepsodent ad that changed the world. Am saving that one for a blog post, Asif Y.

  22. Sajid permalink
    July 24, 2007 7:30 pm

    Haha! Those ads back in the day were the best.

    Ads these days are so boring. Westernized. They’ve lost their deshi ridiculousness. But maybe I have missed the good ones.

  23. Hussain permalink
    July 24, 2007 9:12 pm

    Pepsodent? HECK NO!!! If ANY ad changed the world, it’s those ECONO Ads…. u know u were all singing along with those jingles….

  24. July 24, 2007 9:13 pm

    I loved the mofiz ad!:)

  25. July 25, 2007 5:33 am

    A few years back I tried to buy bidi in Dhaka. I had nothing smaller than a 5 taka note. Anyone care to guess how many sticks can you get with 5 taka?

    Meanwhile, I think bidi jalai ley is one cool song.

  26. July 25, 2007 3:52 pm

    Aren’t they like 10 cents each?

  27. Sajid permalink
    July 25, 2007 4:33 pm

    hmm. for 5 taka you could get a real bundle. like 30? 50?

  28. July 25, 2007 11:26 pm

    Back then (early 2000), it was 4 sticks a taka. This was the only use of paisa I could see.

  29. July 26, 2007 3:18 am

    Well, Anthony bhai – that raises an interesting question: What would happen if they got rid of the paisa? Surely it’s more expensive for the state to make the paisa than it’s worth?

  30. July 26, 2007 7:43 am

    That is an interesting question. Wasn’t there a debate in the US about the impact of getting rid of the penny? I think it’s Greg Mankiw’s pet subject.

    Would it be inflationary?

  31. September 12, 2007 3:59 am

    Cool…

Leave a Reply

